Postponing the inevitable

So, one more day at work… The time for the shooting of the second part of video classes is approaching – I think we’re shooting on 5 June – and the scripts have to be written. I’ve managed to finish five scripts, which is a good number for a 10-day period. Well, maybe not for a professional writer, but considering the conditions and that I’m not a professional writer, I think it’s a reasonable time. The first time took me two months! But after making a good start, I’m at a point that I really don’t know what to write about; writer’s block, if I may. I mean, I know the topics, but I need to figure out how they will be presented in a 12-minute video divided in two parts. So I can’t simply abruptly finish one topic and pick it up on the other side. Sometimes it takes me an hour to think of something, but then it will be too much content, so I’m back to “editing”.

So, to avoid dealing with that pain-in-the-ass situation, I end up clinging on whatever distraction is presented to me. And that distraction leads to another, and another, and another… One of those distractions was learning that my email account would change. The changing of the accounts started a couple of months ago with the managers, and now all the teachers and people without a specific function — meaning me — will have a new email address. However, I really need to find a way to keep the messages that I’ve sent and received so far, they can’t simply be deleted or disappear for good because I find myself time and time again having to go back several months and check if I received a specific message. So, I decided to access the new page (it’s web-based), changed the language, set a new password, explored it a little bit and eventually found out that I could transfer messages from other accounts to this new one (I’m not tech savvy, so to me it’s like I’ve struck gold…). I then followed all the steps and when I hit the button to finally transfer everything, an “error occurred”. Don’t you just hate these two words? “Error occurred”? I tried again, all the steps, clicking all the options, and… “error occurred”. Third time is a charm, right? Wrong… “error occurred”. I think altogether I spent one hour on the new account thing. I obviously did not solve the problem, but I didn’t want to ask the IT guys for help. One of the guys is all right. He’s nice, he does the job quickly and explains things in a way that anyone understands. But the other guy… obnoxious would be a proper word to describe him. He’s so unbearable, he makes these really unfortunate remarks, not to mention that he’s creepy-looking, you know, the classic movie character that snaps and takes a machine gun from under the desk and kills the entire office. Whenever I call them I hope that the other guy picks up the phone. If not, it inevitably reminds me of one Seinfeld episode where Elaine is trying to talk to a friend, but the friend’s boyfriend answers the phone and never stops talking, wants to chit-chat. She unsuccessfully tries to make the conversation short, and in the end she just hangs up the phone every time he picks it up.

But I’ll have to contact them sooner or later. And I’ll have to go back to writing. And I’ll have to resume Email English corrections. And I’ll have to think of material for next Immersion. NOOOOOOOOOOOO……..

Didn’t you just love the Secret Service’s rogue tweet, or “mistweet”, about Fox News? Check it here. Simply “h-i-l-a-r-i-o-u-s!”

Leave a comment