What comes in threes?

You have to agree that only bad things, fears, accidents, buses you don’t need, problems and many other annoyances come in threes. Why not lottery prizes, bonuses, good news, gifts, days off?

When I thought that things were starting to look good again, something happened. Something really bad happened at work.

A few weeks ago we hired someone to help me out with my work, something more than needed since basically the day I started organising the Immersion Programme. The person was perfect for the job: experience abroad, experience preparing lessons with authentic materials, experience teaching… She started helping me organise the schedule and send the lessons to the teachers. The students really liked her and I was glad that I could count on her for whatever necessary. Until last Wednesday.

I was checking my emails after lunch when she stormed into the office saying, ‘please, don’t freak out.’ I just stared. For two or three seconds, trying to be as optimistic as possible, I thought she would say that something had come up and she wouldn’t be able to teach the afternoon class, right after lunch. She sat down across the desk and said she’d been offered a job and that she was leaving. OMG… I think she talked for ten minutes and I just sat there, petrified, looking at the schedule on the wall and thinking mostly about the immersion in Santa Cruz, because she was going to travel with me and now I had nobody else for Santa Cruz classes. Worst case scenario, my boss will come with me, but honestly I don’t want to spend 9 hours a day for one week teaching with my boss. I just believe that that’s long enough for her to start looking for flaws, and even though I think I’m doing a good job, you know, as Seinfeld once put it: ‘Keep looking…’

So, after the bombshell I just desperately needed to have some booze. After having a considerable amount of it, I wanted to have a glass of water. I opened the tap and… where’s the liquid??? Once again the building had run out of water, but what a wonderful moment to find that out: at midnight, drunk as a skunk and having to wake up early to teach a 9am class.

I got up at 7am, put my clothes on and went to the school to basically wash my face, brush my teeth and drink some water. I explained the situation to my students and apologised in advance for, you know, stinking. They were very nice: ‘don’t worry teacher, you don’t stink.’ Short before lunch, when I was finishing what I thought was the last class of the day and finally go home and shower, I got a message from another school saying that I had to fill in for a teacher that was having back problems. Damn it!!!

Such perfect couple of days: teacher quitting, no water, teacher getting sick.

I still haven’t thought about the upcoming classes and the trip to Santa Cruz. And the video classes project is still on… but completely stalled… I really don’t want to think about it until Wednesday.

One more from the series Disney characters meet Glenn Beck. Now there is this Mickey Mouse video put together with Beck commenting on the Donald Duck video. Both funny, but obviously the video is an “attack” funded by government against him. Give me a break…

Leave a comment